Northern Nevada's Homeschooling Information Hub
Welcome to the Nevada Notice of Intent page
Your first step:
In the state of Nevada, laws are in place which delineate your legal rights to homeschool your child(ren). Because schooling is mandatory for individuals between the ages of 7 and 18, parents must first notify their school district of their intent to homeschool in lieu of other schooling options. Your only requirement is to fill out a "Notice of Intent to Homeschool" form for each school age child. This is a one-time filing and does not need to be refiled unless the name or address of the parent or child changes, or your child is re-entering homeschooling after being enrolled in public school. Once completed, the application should be returned to your district's homeschool office as soon as possible. Remember, this is not an Application which needs a determination, but rather it is a notification to the district regarding your decision to homeschool. Once you have filed the form, your school district will provide a written acknowledgement which clearly indicates that the parent(s) have provided the notice required by law. Your written acknowledgement will be your proof that you have complied with Nevada's compulsory attendance law.
In Washoe County, you may deliver your letter to:
Supplemental Credit Department, Washoe County School District 785 W. 6th Street Reno, Nevada 89503
or you can mail the form to:
Supplemental Credit Department, Washoe County School District Attn: Barbara Creveling, Administrator P.O. Box 30425 Reno, NV 89520-3425
For additional information or instructions, you may contact Barbara Creveling at the Supplemental Credit Office:
Phone (775) 333-6100 Fax (775) 333-5189
For further information, visit the Washoe County School District Supplemental Credit website at: http://www.washoe.K12.nv.us/suppcredit/homeSchool.php
Reminder: It's very important to provide your letter of intent to your school district's homeschool representative/office by the designated time frame, which is no later than 10 days after formal withdrawal from enrollment in public school or 30 days after establishing residency in the state. If your child is enrolled in public school and you decide to pull him/her out of the school during the school term, it is best to submit a Notice of Intent to Homeschool prior to the withdrawal, so that your child can exit the public school with an acknowledgement in hand. If he/she is pulled from public school on an emergency basis, you should make every effort to turn in your Notice of Intent that day. Otherwise, you run the risk of your child(ren) being considered truant. While it may seem appropriate to deliver the form to a school principal or school personnel, these individuals may not be familiar with the process and your form may not make it to the correct department or in a timely manner. For the greatest peace of mind, homeschoolers often deliver their Notice of Intent in person. This way, a receipt can be requested at the time of delivery showing proof that you have complied with mandatory filing.
Home| Laws| Field Trips| Activites| News| Reading| Writing| Science| Curriculum| Books| Online Schools | Photo Gallery
| Contact | Site Map | FAQs | Support Groups | HS Flea Market | Links | Copyright © renohomeschooling.org